Welcome to the WSVNRadio A R C H I V E S

Willie Nelson
"The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories"

© Sony Music Special Products

February 05 - 11, 2023

Year of Release: 1991
  • Who'll Buy My Memories
  • Jimmy's Road
  • It Should Be Easier Now
  • Will You Remember
  • I Still Can't Believe
    You're Gone
  • Yesterday's Wine
  • It's Not Supposed To Be
    That Way
  • Country Willie
  • The Sound In Your Mind
  • Permanently Lonely
  • so Much To Do
  • Lonely Little Mansion
  • Summer Of Roses/
    December Day
  • Pretend I Never Happened
  • Slow Down Old World
  • Opportunity To Cry
  • I'm Falling In Love Again
  • If You Could Only See
  • I'd Rather You Didn't Love Me
  • What Can You Do To Me Now
  • Buddy
  • Remember The Good Times
  • Wake Me When It's Over
  • Home Motel

  • See how this album ranks...

    [ Yahoo! ]

    The Complete WSVNRadio Album Archive
    History List

    A B C D E F G H I J K L M
    N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
    Willie Nelson's The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories was an album to pay the debt from the Internal Revenue Service. The album was released in late 1992, even though it was originally meant to be distributed by phone order, in June, 1991. Later negotiations with Sony Music would become distributed in stores. In 1990, the IRS seized most of Willie's assests, claiming he owed $16 million dollars. Nelson's accountants (Price Waterhouse) had not been paying Nelson's taxes for years, and bad investments from the 1980s were also claimed. Nelson's lawyer, Jay Goldberg, settled on $6 million, although Nelson did not comply with the agreement. The result for payment would be the release of The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories; an album consisting of only Nelson and his guitar. A second tape of recordings were from 1976 - The Hungry Years, which was released in 1991, prior to the release of The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories. When the album was released in 1992, Nelson's assets were auctioned. Items from fans were returned to Nelson, from a benefit concert for the restoration of the Texas State Capitol. Nelson wore a t-shirt during a Primetime Live tv show, that shown the (nonexistent) phone number of 1-800-IRS-TAPE, for orders of Nelson's IRS album. After 500 calls, Jon Richards (the owner ov Visual Technology, Inc.) announced that Nelson would lease or purchase the number to help the album's sales. Nelson also negotiated with Sony Music, to distribute the IRS album in stores. The IRS collected $3.6 million dollars from the album's sales, and after a payment of $9 million dollars during the next five years. Nelson's debt was then completed. Reviews of the Nelson's IRS album were very positive.

    And with only Nelson's distinctive voice and guitar, his IRS album should be what the critics have reviewed this album ... FANTASTIC!

    "Who'll Buy My Memories" is a pure beautiful well written song, and Willie's voice and guitar makes it even greater. "Jimmy's Road" is quite moody, and the guitar also has mood arrangements. It's the tale of "Jimmy" and his "roads," which ends to Jimmy's death. "It Should Be Easier Now" is another great Willie and guitar tune. Likwise, "Will You Remember" -- another great song, accoustic Willie style. And that great acoustic Willie style keeps going with the next track, "I Still Can't Believe You're Gone."

    "Yesterday's Wine" was a popular hit by Willie, as well as the George Jones/Merle Haggard duet. Willie (who originally wrote this song) puts his own spin on this great song, with only Willie and guitar. "It's Not Supposed To Be That Way" keeps the acoustic Willie going. "Country Willie" definitely defines Willie as COUNTRY. "The Sound In Your Mind" was the title of his 1976 album, and the acoustic Willie gets its spin on this track. And again, it's just beautiful. And despite the next song's title, "Permanently Lonely" is another beautiful track. "So Much To Do" (like many songs) reminds me of Willie's Red Headed Stranger album, and the song from it, "Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain." And this also goes for "Lonely Little Mansion," where Willie invites to live in his "little mansion." The weather seasons is featured on the medley of "Summer Of Roses/December Day." Beautiful song, beautiful lyrics.

    "Pretend I Never Happened" - You really can't, when it comes to the name and music of Willie Nelson. And this song title can't help to think of if Waylon Jennings had been on that plane with (or maybe not) Buddy, J.P and Ritchie. If that was true, there wouldn't be a Waylon Jennings, and maybe, not a Willie Nelson. We can only imagine what Buddy Holly would have done also. Waylon and Buddy as outlaws. Buddy as a promising and successful Country artist. The thoughts are endless. "Slow Down Old World" -- sometimes we have to slow down ourselves, in this (as we're getting in this) old world. Willie is currently is approaching his 90th birthday. And if and when that day comes, when Waylon & Willie are reunited again, it will give us all an "Opportonity To Cry."

    "I'm Falling In Love Again" is a great title, and it will have you fall in love with each and every song from this album. "If You Could Only See" is another beautiful song (just as many), and likewise, "I'd Rather You Didn't Love Me" and "What Can You Do To Me Now."

    "Buddy" -- a song for Buddy Holly? Whether it be or (preferably) not, "Remember The Good Times" from Buddy, and Willie's great music. "Wake Me When it's Over" - when the whole IRS debt is covered. "Home Motel" end the album, and again, another great beautiful acoustic Willie.

    If you're familiar with Willie's Red Headed Stranger, The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories is a great runner-up. The blending of Willie's guitar and voice truly stands out on its own, on all 24 tracks. A beautiful album to listen and relax to. As mentioned earlier, Willie is approaching his 90th birthday, and he is still recording. Listen to another great album from his career - The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories ... His memories of his music will always be with us, 90 years living, 60+ years of music. We will always remember.

    And yes, The IRS Tapes: Who'll Buy My Memories is from -- The Goodwill Collection.

    © 2023 WSVNRadio.net. All rights reserved. Review or any portion may not be reproduced without written permission. Cover art is the intellectual property of Sony Music Special Products and is used for reference purposes only.

    Previous Review: #1866
    Take Off Your Pants And Jacket--Blink-182
    Next Review: #1868